SACRAMENTO REGIONAL TRANSIT DISTRICT OFFERS FREE RIDES ON HOLIDAY BUS

December 2, 2016 RT News
CONTACT: Susan Bitar DATE: December 2, 2016
OFFICE: 916-556-0300 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
CELL: 916-812-0369

SACRAMENTO, CA – The Sacramento Regional Transit District (RT) will spread some holiday cheer by offering free rides on RT’s annual Holiday Bus. As a thank you to riders, the festive 40-foot Holiday Bus will travel on a different route each day (see schedule below) from December 1 through January 2, 2017.

In lieu of fare, passengers will have the opportunity to place a monetary (cash and checks accepted) donation in the farebox. All donations will benefit Shriners Hospitals for Children — Northern California, a hospital committed to providing the finest care for children with orthopaedic problems, spinal cord injuries, burns, cleft lip, gastrointestinal disorders, and other complex surgical needs. All care is provided regardless of a family’s ability to pay.

“We are proud to continue the festive Holiday Bus and RT’s tradition of saying thanks to our riders, and at the same time, assist an important local charity,” said Henry Li, RT General Manager/CEO. “There’s no question, Shriners changes lives not only during the holiday season but all year long.”

“Shriners Hospitals for Children is committed to ensuring that all children benefit from exceptional care, research and innovation,” said Margaret Bryan, hospital Administrator and CEO. “Our care is supported by donations from people from all walks of life. We are extremely grateful to Regional Transit and our kind and generous community for making a positive difference in the lives of children served by Shriners Hospital.”

Other transit changes during December include bus detours on Sunday, December 4. The 34th annual California International Marathon (CIM) will cause prolonged road closures between the city of Folsom and downtown Sacramento from 7:00 am to 2:00 pm. During the closure, Routes 15, 21, 23, 26, 30, 38, 51, 67, 68, 80, 82, 86, 87 and 88 will detour.

For a list of detours, click on the “Bus and Light Rail Service Alert” link at sacrt.com or call 916-321-BUSS (2877). Light rail service will not be affected.

(more)

2016 Holiday Bus Schedule:

Date Day Route
Dec. 1 Thu 1
Dec. 2 Fri 2
Dec. 3 Sat 21, 93
Dec. 4 Sun 88
Dec. 5 Mon 5
Dec. 6 Tue 6, 56
Dec. 7 Wed 13, 88
Dec. 8 Thu 15
Dec. 9 Fri 19
Dec. 10 Sat 84
Dec. 11 Sun 38, 86, 87
Dec. 12 Mon 21
Dec. 13 Tue 22
Dec. 14 Wed 23
Dec. 15 Thu 24
Dec. 16 Fri 25
Dec. 17 Sat 82
Dec. 18 Sun 81
Dec. 19 Mon 26
Dec. 20 Tue 28
Dec. 21 Wed 30
Dec. 22 Thu 34
Dec. 23 Fri 38
Dec. 24 Sat 80
Dec. 25 Sun 72, 75
Dec. 26 Mon 67, 68
Dec. 27 Tue 54
Dec. 28 Wed 61
Dec. 29 Thu 65
Dec. 30 Fri 74
Dec. 31 Sat 11, 62
Jan. 1 Sun 55, 56
Jan. 2 Mon 51

About Sacramento Regional Transit District (RT)
RT operates approximately 69 fixed routes and 43 miles of light rail that covers a 418 square-mile service area. Buses and light rail trains operate 365 days a year. RT’s entire bus and light rail system is accessible to the disabled community.